World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
ginnyp

Doctors Who Suck

Advertisement
0_unsure-if-it-is-herpes.png

Unsure if you have an STD? Get tested privately here.

ginnyp

OK, I know this has been stated so many fucking times, but I can't help it. I just read two posts in a row that has stupid doctors giving out wrong information, confusing new herpes patients or frustrating them to hell.

My Gaw! How can a doctor NOT know the difference between type 1 and 2? How can they actually think location makes it type 1 or 2? Where the hell did they go to school, anyway? I am not a doctor, and I knew nothing about herpes, but I DID know that there were two types, and that type 1 oral CAN be spread through oral sex. I've always known that.

I understand patients not knowing the difference, although I still can't completely comprehend how someone who gets coldsores still doesn't know it's herpes, or that it can be spread via oral sex, but a doctor?

And how can someone go to a doctor, tell them they've possibly been exposed to HSV by having sex, and ASK for a blood test, and the doctor orders everything but? Even after telling them you've been exposed! This happened to my bf as well. He said he was with a girl (me) who had HSV2, and the doctor said if he doesn't show symptoms not to worry. Then he explained I didn't KNOW I had it and we had sex, so the doctor then tested him.