World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
new09

No expert but i can help with results...

new09

I was recently diagnosed with H1 and H2. When I first learned of this, I went through a range of emotions and then I tried to figure out life with this infection. But then I decided to start researching....I'm so glad I did!!!

I have now learned how to decipher my own results. I'm no expert but it is quite simple. I've learned that the IGG antibody test is useless and that you should ONLY be getting a TYPE SPECIFIC IGG test done. You should have results for Herpes Simplex Type 1 IGG AND Herpes Simplex Type 2 IGG individually!!!!!

I've also learned that if your test is for Herpes Simplex Type 2 is below 3.5...you should be retested. Now, I am not saying they are wrong but it is considered to be a low positive and should be retested. I have also learned that there are two test that are recommended when you retest: BioKitUsa and a WesternBlot. The BiokitUsa may not be provided at your current physician BUT you can call them and they will give you the names to those who do. Also, the WesternBlot (which is highly regarded) is offered through the University of Washington. BUT you can send your sample to them or have it ordered through CERTAIN labs. Sounds strange but it is true. Retesting has been recommended to me to be done 3-4 months after my last sexual encounter.

Let me post my results:

HSV 1/2 IGG, HERPESELECT

HERPES SIMPLEX TYPE 1 >5.00

HERPES SIMPLEX TYPE 2 1.76

I am of course positive for both from my results. But my H2 results are below the 3.5 and it is recommended to be retested. It could go either way when I am retested but it worth doing for me and anyone else.