World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
sachmn

New to the forum.

sachmn

My name is Mike. I was diagnosed a couple years ago. My girlfriend at the time did not know that she had it but I broke out, she called the same night(before she knew I broke out)and told me.

It was not such a big deal at the time, a bit of adjustment and thought and research and we both were pretty okay with it since we were staying together.

Well, it's been a month since we broke up and I'm kind of at a loss...how do I get back into the dating world? How do I initiate the talk? I'm excited to browse the forums and talk to people to find out how they approached these and other issues.

itsnotover

Hey Mike,

Being a newbie myself, I have only had to do the "talk" once. I was just diagnosed last week and had to break the news to the guy I was seeing (and having unprotected sex with). I didn't have symptoms so I didn't know I had it. He took it well, but it was hard as hell to do it. I chickened out and did it over the phone. If I could have a do-over, I would have done it in person. I have found that even now that he knows, it's still really hard to talk about it. I want to talk about suppression and treatments and how I feel about it and all of that, but it's really hard to bring it up in conversation. I guess that's why I'm here.

Anywhoo, I've read a lot of great things about the dating sites designed for HSV positives. Maybe that would be helpful, just to break into the dating world and get the hang of it again. But if internet dating isn't for you, then look at it this way. You'll be a lot more selective and careful when choosing partners now, which may not be a bad thing.

ginnyp

I also had my talk after being diagnosed AFTER having unprotected sex with my partner. We had unprotected DURING my first ob and 3 months later he tested negative. I had no idea I had it until that first ob, so it was dormant for at least 2 years.