World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
sassynstrong

Flipping between positive/negative; affecting how I interact with others

sassynstrong

Suppose I'm here because having herpes is impacting my life...I'm allowing it to happen. I was married for 20 years and I knew he had it. I ended up getting at the end of our marriage. I'm a busy professional who tries to keep a positive attitude about most things. I have had positive experiences with dating and ultimately becoming intimate with people who knew I had it. The relationships did not end because of anything related to herpes. One, we just weren't right for each other for the long term and the other ended up turning into a long distance relationship because I took a promotion...which also leads to we weren't right for each other in the long term. I told myself that I was much more than the sexually transmitted disease...just a medical condition. But, I moved...I didn't know if this was going to be a permenant location, so I kinda isolated myself. I wasn't open to dating...the whole time saying to myself that it was because I didn't want to get involved with people in general because I didn't want the emotional entanglements...I have standards...etc...