World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
GURLYGURL

worried

GURLYGURL

Hello everyone,

I am new to this. My boyfriend has herpes we just found out. I have been tested and am coming up negative. Im not sure how to feel about this but am a little scared. Does anyone have advice?

JBnATL

Learn as much as you can about the virus

And don't think that just because he has herpes does not automatically mean that you will get it too.

I have dated many non h women and have never passed it along. I have also chatted with several people who have been married decades without passing this along to their spouses.

Use common sense and suppressive meds and you can reduce the chance of submission greatly.

Read all you can about this disease and you will see that it is an almost insignificant disease.

Good luck!

JB

bella303
Hello everyone,

I am new to this. My boyfriend has herpes we just found out. I have been tested and am coming up negative. Im not sure how to feel about this but am a little scared. Does anyone have advice?

In order to make an informed decision

1. Research this disease. Do not look at the photos. Most people do not have symptoms that look like the photos on the internet.

2. Consult with people who share different views -

a. those who have accepted the virus

b. those who have not accepted the virus

c. those who have rejected someone who has the virus

d. those who have accepted being with someone who has the virus.

Get several point of views.

3. Refrain from consulting your primary care doctor as most doctors feel that having this disease is not a big deal.

4. Envision your future without your partner having the disease (if you were to acquire it) as the situations you will encounter (rejection, mockery, etc) can take an emotional toll on you. Remember that relationships are not forever.