World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
BeautifullyBroken

dating in college

BeautifullyBroken

so i am a freshman college student and new to the whole college life thing. i also don't know for sure if i have herpes but it is sure looking like it. it seems to me that everyone is really ignorant about herpes in college even though i'm sure that many of these cruel people have it and don't even know. it seems like all guys come to college and espect to have all kinds of crazy sex. especially since im in a sorority i see a lot of guys always trying to get into my pants and i just feel like shit beccause i can't be honest with these people because i'm certain they wouldn't understand. are there any other college students out there with advice on dating in college with herpes? i don't want my whole life to change because of this. i'm trying to have the best time of my life and i'm having a hard time being optimistic. HELP PLEASE!

chooseyourbattles

Yes! I got herpes from being wild in college. I vacationed in New York City and I hang out with some pretty wild people from DC, but I got the herp from having sex with people in the dorms at my college, which is an unknown school in the middle of nowhere.

I was a senior when I found out about it, though, which means I had a good deal of time for the carefree hooking up and a little bit of experience dating in the adult world as well. I am extraordinarily grateful for that.

You probably think that you're starting out at a great disadvantage. You're in a sorority, so I imagine that there is a tremendous amount of drunken carousing at the parties you are siphoned into by frat boys. And all of you know each other and are expected to have the allotted number of sexual encounters with each other before you get out of there. And the gossip spreads faster than microbes.

It sucks, and I'm sorry.