World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
sara2012

Not a day goes by...

sara2012

I am new to this and have gone through waves of emotions over the past few months. I went from a confident, outgoing, successful career woman who thought I had life under control to someone who just feels betrayed, beaten, and cheated by life’s circumstances. I realize as I write this that there are worse things out there and people in worse conditions than I, but I feel powerless being in a situation I have absolutely no control over. I am in my early thirties and am in a place where I was ready to start looking for a partner to settle down with, and feel that has been severely compromised. It is so hard waking up and feeling like a different person than I was only a few short months ago.

I am not out of the woods yet with my emotions, but am thankful to have stumbled upon this website, and am curious to see what supports it has to offer. I am not going to let this get the best of me, but not a day goes by where I am not praying for a cure...

My heart goes out to all of you in the same position. We cannot let this define who we are.

LetGo

I am also new to this and I too think about this every day of my life. Yes, there are worst things and i try to remind myself of that too. I was diagnosed about 6 months ago and have been taking daily medication ever since and i have thankfully had no breakouts. I try to remind myself that this isn't going to prevent me from doing what i want in life but I understand the emotions that can come from this. I go through waves of anger, confusion, denial, and fear and I am trying to let this go. When i read what you wrote "we cannot let this define who we are" it really had an impact. We may be emotional but as the days go by i hope to be able to cope with this and hopefully we won't be the same as we were, we will be stronger than ever. Best wishes to you.

Kitty123

Dear Sara & LetGo: