World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
cbf

First Semester Freshmen Year :(

cbf

Today I went to my doctor with concerns.. She checked me out and said she strongly believes that I have herpes. I first saw signs yesterday and I've been crying ever since. I'm kind of confused on what all of this means. In school we were always taught that herpes was one of the bad ones but my doctor was very nonchalant about it. She told me to just think of it as a cold sore, just in a different place and she said there's no reason to freak out.. But I am. I'm only 18. I'm a freshmen in college. This is my first year away from home and I have no clue how to handle it. I've only told my best friend who's 8 hours away so I'm basically going through this alone. My mom and I are very close, and every time I've talked to her today I've teared up cause I know how sad she would be if she knew. It would probably affect her more emotionally than it's even affecting me. And the saddest part about it is that I haven't even been with that many people. I haven't had sex with any at my university and trust me, there have been temptations. But I always said that I didn't wanna catch anything so I would be extremely careful in college. I'm that girl who's always been cautious about how many guys she sleeps with, yet I still caught something. I'm still on and off crying and in hysterics. I have finals coming up and papers due next week. I need to get myself together!! Any tips on how? Any hope that I will still be able to have the future I planned with a husband and children? Will anyone ever want to date me? I'm so devastated right now.. Hoping I pull through soon..

RealisticGal