World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
starshipsfly1

Life As I Know It

starshipsfly1

Hello all,

First off, I would like to thank anyone who has ever given advice or supportive feedback in this forum. Seeing that this website existed immediately instilled me with a sense of hope. Here is my story. I would greatly appreciate any advice or feedback. :)

I am currently a 19-year-old college student with big plans for my future. Coming into college, I was in love with my high school boyfriend of three years.We both took sex very seriously and waited over a year before we had intercourse. We were each others' first and only. Like many new college students, however, we broke things off due to distance.

When we decided to end things this past March, I was devastated. I made a reckless, drunken decision and ended up having oral sex with one of my female friends that I had just recently met. After spending more time with this "friend", we started to date. I was originally very uncomfortable with the novelty of being in a homosexual relationship, but she made me so happy that I ignored these feelings.

In June, right after she left to return home (to the east coast... I live in California) I experienced my first genital herpes breakout. After visiting a doctor and doing a fair amount of research, I called to break the news to her. We both remained relatively calm about the situation, and assured each other that nothing would change. We had previously decided to not be exclusively together before this news, but it was then clear to me that I would not be meeting anyone that summer.