World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
Luvmymtnbike

Doc didn't specify 1 or 2 for genital case - Can I guess by symptoms?

Luvmymtnbike

I was diagnosed 6 years ago, so not new but I put my head in the sand and so I'm new with the information. I don't know when I got this or how long I've had it. I get one little tiny spot near the perineum but still on the vagina. It's very mild, gone within days, and has flared up maybe 3 times in the last 6 years though I don't take Valtrex or anything else. I had a b/f that used to get cold sores and I may have gotten it from him. I got married and had an episode so I got tested and it was positive but doc didn't specify HSV1 or 2. Though he refuses to get tested, I don't think my husband has it. We don't have sex if I'm flaring, but haven't been cautious other than that. Given this information, can I assume with a high probability that I have HSV1 and that the chance of me passing it to my husband is super low? I'm trying to get out of retesting b/c my insurance hardly pays for anything these days. I'm really wanting to find out b/c the H has basically ruined my sex life w/ my husband and if I can make him feel more comfortable about his chances of catching it, I'm hoping he'll feel better about sex. Thanks!

victor