World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
zane18

Dating someone with H

zane18

Hello, I'm new to this form & to the idea of herpes. I'm hoping to find some guidance & hear some personal experiences to help me bc right now I'm very confused.

Recently, I have been seeing a great girl who I like very much. Over the weekend, we had the talk & she told me she has ghsv2. The fact that she disclosed this before sex further shows me how great of a girl she is & is now making this decision more difficult. My instincts tell me to run; I've always been fearful of STD's, I'm only 25, very health oriented, just graduated from UCLA, have my whole life ahead of me, & who knows how long our relationship will last .

I feel this way, yet I have spent the whole weekend researching herpes & haven't slept. Emotions seem to be much stronger than logic at times. I like this girl a lot & my glimmer of hope has been the fact that female to male transmission rates are very low. I have a few questions I hope someone can answer. I have read that female to male transmission rates are 3-4% a year; combine antiviral suppression therapy & condoms to the mix & the chances drop down even more to 1-2%. I think I am willing to risk a 2% chance for this girl, I mean there is always risks in life right.

I curious to hear of the successful & unsuccessful relationships you all of had with a non-h & transmission.

Are there any vitamins, medicine, or lubes I could take or use to lower the transmission rates even closer to zero?

Also, people who have faced rejection, is there a nice way? I am not sure if I can get over my fear of herpes. Risking a life long STD is a big commitment when you have only been dating for 2 months so please don't classify me as an asshole.

Elle22

Most cases of transmission are from someone who doesn't know they have hsv so they don't take precautions. There are many on here that have had hsv for years and never passed it on.