Have not dated since being diagnosed

Latrell

Hi everyone,

It's good to know there is a place we can share our feelings and experiences.

I was diagnosed in Dec 06 after breaking up with my boyfriend of years who has been using drugs. I work in the health field. Needless to say, I was devasted when I noticed a sore and went to my doctor who told me I have HSV-2. Thank God it wasn't worse, still I have been traumatized by the experience.

I'm sure my ex-boyfriend gave it to me and I had to get therapy and took a month off from work. I have not had another out break since the first one n Dec.

I want to date again. There is a man I really am interested in. We've been talking on the phone and texting daily. Next week he is coming to visit me.

I sense that we will most likely click and possibly start dating. When should I tell him about my diagnosis? I don't want to scare him away. If we start dating and are not sexually active , should I wait awhile.

This is very hard for me. I know I have to tell him. I just don't want to say it too soon and scare him away.

Advice anyone.

I wouldn't tell someone right away, nor would I wait until we start talking about sex or just before we have sex either.

Its probably better to wait until you've gone out with him 2-3 times, or maybe when the two of you start talking about past relationships.

I guess the thing is this: don't wait until he gets hooked on you--that wouldn't be fair to him--but don't spring it on him first thing, when he doesn't know you at all--that wouldn't be fair to you either.

--glad to hear you've bounced back.

Thanks for the advice. You make some very good points about being fair to each other. He's a fun-loving guy and very humorous. I just hope that it doesn't scare him away whenever we talk about it.