Possible Herpes

That girl01

So I'm be to all this, but I'm afraid I may have herpes... A little over a week ago I had a little sore spot on my genitals which has now turned into what looks like an open herpes sore. Initially that was it; but the last couple of days a few more small bumps have popped up that look very similar to how this one started... As a kid, I did get the occasional cold sore ( luckily it's been a while since I've had one again), but I've never had sores on my genitals. I had my annual Pap smear about a week and a half ago before these sites popped up, but I just received a message yesterday saying my results were back (they only call if there's something abnormal). Unfortunately, I didn't get to talk to anyone so I, have to wait until tomorrow to talk to them and set up another appointment. 

Now my concern is how and when I could have gotten this because I read all sorts of things. (I am a registered nurse, so when it comes to my health, I start researching like crazy). I've been with only 1 person for the past 6 months who I've never seen a sore on. So I'm wondering if this could have been something I picked up before I knew him and just never had an outbreak from or if he has it and was possibly shedding recently which caused me to only pick it up now after 6 months... I did recently find two bottles of valacyclovir in his bathroom. One was empty and the other had only a few pills left. I noticed they haven't been touched in a while, so it doesn't seem like something he's actively taking, unless he has another bottle somewhere... I don't want to assume anything, because I know he's loyal, but I can't imagine that he had a recent bout of chicken pox or shingles. I guess you never know...