World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Snjt

When is it safe to have sex again?

Snjt

Hello all,

I was diagnosed in late May/ June of this year. I would like to know when will I be able to have sex again? My doctor said no sex for 4 months. Its been over 4 months but i think I should wait longer. Is oral sex an option? I have been taking my anti virals without skipping a beat and my outbreaks have become less freguent and less severe. I can also always know when I am going to have an outbreak. Anyone else gets a tingling sensation in the middle of their back like almost on your spine? I don't have the crawling sensation on my genitalsite any more though. I'm still new to this disease and still learning how to live with myself and it taking over my body like a parasite. I want to be normal and have sex but this is holding me back. I don't sleep around but I do have someone who I've been staying away from because of this. idk how to break it to them. Any positive advice or suggestions will be appreciated, thanks 

WilsoInAus

What was the outcome of your tests? I remember your pictures and they were most unlikely to be herpes lesions and swabbed negative, but that is independent of your herpes status.

Snjt

I was positive for hsv1 and hsv2. the photo I had posted was of my child's skin which turn out to be just a viral infection, not of my lesions 

WilsoInAus

Of that's right, thanks for that update, big relief for you and your child. A scare to be sure, and a learning that HSV-2 is not at all readily spread to a child. Lots of people get chewed up with this highly remote outcome if a possibility at all.

Was your diagnosis through a blood test? What were the actual results of the tests?

The reason to explore this is to check the potential for a long term infection which I suspect is the case?

As such, by taking daily antivirals very consistently and using condoms you are probably at the lowest possible infection chance already, no need to wait any longer for sex.