Hello, I very recently, unfortunately gave my partner oral herpes. We think it's genital herpes on her mouth. She's got the bumps/clusters and now it's starting to scab.

I'm wondering if we engage in (mouth to mouth, closed and open) kissing, can I get it.... worse?

Meaning - I have only noticed tingling, itching, stinging on my mouth but no noticeable bumps/clusters small or large, no pus or bleeding, etc. Or is it kind of like, the infection is what it is and I already have it/it can't 'pop up' in a new or different way...?

Thanks for your time.

Edited by lemongrab

I'm still rather new at this, but I think (not sure at all, wait for better confirmation) that you can "re-catch" it elsewhere... like it can open up new nerves that the virus will travel down...

Like I said, not sure enough to be confident, but thats what I understand

Unless you quite recently contracted hsv2 in the past couple months this is very, very unlikely. After a few months those antibodies you have that the igg tests for prevents you from getting the virus in a new place. Also, hsv2 orally is really rare in general. The chance you gave your partner oral hsv2 and then they gave it back to you is almost impossible, provided you do not have immune problems.

shoonz - i know you can 're-catch' it in different spots/areas of the body (i've had it happen to me) but was simply wondering if my symptoms - which were one type of way (mild) - could suddenly turn into/closely resemble someone else's symptoms (severe) if they somehow accidentally shed/spread their infected cells on a spot i already get outbreaks.