World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
Dorito3

Misunderstanding

Dorito3

Hello, so I am studying abroad and I met a really sweet guy when I first visited a few years ago. We kept in touch since. Now, we mainly have small talk, due to language barriers, and I told him a few weeks ago that I had HSV2. He consoled me and said I was still a good person. 

*Sigh. Last night, we both got naked and one thing led to another and... for some (stupid) reason, he didn't put on a condom and I did not call him out for it. He asked me "are you okay?" in his language and I assumed he meant if I was okay emotionally and I said yes. So, we had like a minute of quick shower sex cause it was uncomfortable and we washed up right after. 

We were sitting on my bed when he pulls out his phone and used google translate to ask me a question. He asked when I got all better and I was puzzled - he meant "are you okay?" as in if I was cured from the illness. So for about an hour, we talked about how I have herpes and I guess that proper communication was lost --- basically, he thought that herpes wasn't for life and that I received treatment. I then had to explain what it was and so forth. I feel like absolute sh*t because I have put this nice guy's wellbeing in danger, perfectly knowing I had this condition and that I could spread it.

Yes, I know the rates of how prevalent it is, that it's a disease and not the end of the world, but I just never thought I'd be the one to pass it on. He keeps saying that everything will be okay, that he isn't upset with me, and that he will get tested in a few weeks.  

But, I made a mistake that was easily preventable. 

Lisajd