World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
changesHappen

Advice Needed

changesHappen

Hello there,

I'm new here and new to HSV-2. I am currently getting over what seemed to be a 2-month primary outbreak. I am a student and am in a relationship of one year. My outbreak was incredibly severe and I still have pain etc down below but no sores. I still have a year left of university and this last quarter was insane due to the debilitation of the outbreak. Somehow made it through. I am here to ask advice concerning my relationship. After being together for about a year, I had a week of heavy drinking (too many birthdays) my immune system wasn't it's strongest. I woke up next to my gf one morning and noticed the sores. Of course we had both been tested, or so we thought and once the diagnosis came though it was assumed to be an accident. Understandable since we had both been tested. Then she tells me that before me she had dated someone with HSV-2. I was calm, because she had been tested. Next thing I find out is that she was actually never tested at all, even after knowing that she was exposed and in a relationship with this person. Whether or not she actually got it from him in my mind is here nor there because it was a couple years before we had gotten together. My problem is that she had never tested, never told her dr that she was exposed and now I have this for the rest of my life. Even by the time I could get her in to be tested I was still showing negative. Then she came back +. Awesome. She has had health issues and I was always there to support her when she was feeling down..... but this was all part of it. Before me she had meningitis which spurred crohn's. Which all happened after being exposed. I feel lied to by omission. I am mostly over the depression but I cannot get over the negligence my partner has demonstrated. Our only real problems (or mine) were over her carelessness, but because I felt it was an issue we could work on, I stayed