World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Wt060

Newly Diagnosed-Confused

Wt060

I am new to this and I am very confused and desperate for some type of answer or clarification. I have done a lot of research and not coming up with much. About 2 weeks ago I had developed a few spots on my genitals that I brushed off as ingrown hairs. As time went on they didn't get better, but worse and in other places, so I went to the Dr. I was also developing flu like symptoms (fever, lymph nodes swollen in groin and armpits, nausea etc). The NP that I saw took a look and said that it was herpes and is a primary infection. I figured that was the case. She gave me acyclovir and ordered some blood tests. The results came back as such: hsv1 igg: 3.85 (positive) hsv2 igg <0.91 (negative) HSV 1/2 combination test 1.42 (positive). I understand that genital herpes can be either hsv1 or 2. She insists that it is HSV2 and is a new infection due to the igM being positive and that I will later test positive for HSV2. Here is my dilemma...I have my been with my boyfriend for over 1 year and we have not had protected sex for that duration of time. He does have cold sores, a lot, but were careful to not have oral sex while he had an outbreak. I have never had a cold sore that I recall. I have never seen any indications of having herpes on his genitals. I have not been with any other person other than him in over 2 years. I do understand that igg antibodies can take a couple months to show up. Is it possible that he had HSV2 before I came along and that I just now contracted it, or is it more likely that he recently contracted it and gave it to me? I have confronted him but he says he hasn't cheated nor he has he had an std. I am really confused on how I would just now contract hsv2 from him after this long. Could I have contracted HSV1 genitally and just now showing symptoms even though I have already developed hsv1 antibodies? I would appreciate any clarification I can get.

Lisajd