World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Spicycupcake

Can you have unprotected sex with a partner who is HSV-2 negative?

Spicycupcake

Hey all,

I'm kinda new to this and have a question about being in a long-term relationship with someone who is HSV-2 negative.

So there is someone I'm hoping to date (haven't disclosed yet) and I'm hoping he will like me enough to still want to go ahead once he hears I have HSV-2.

So, crucial to the story is that I have a genetic disorder that means I cannot take the birth control pill, and hence have to use condoms. 

So, my question is, if I'm taking anti-virals and he is HSV negative, obviously we have to use condoms for actual intercourse (so as to avoid pregnancy) but does it mean that there can be no genital skin to skin contact whatsoever at all? What is the chance of me passing it on to him if I'm on the meds but we fool around without a condom? 

I just have a feeling that always having to wear a condom to even touch somebody is going to be a deal breaker for him and most guys. Any advice on this from people in relationships with non-H partners would be so very appreciated!

Many thanks!

confusedpremed

Hi Spicycupcake, 

So basically, you should limit contact with areas of your body that will shed HSV-2. For guys, it's usually just the penis and sometimes scrotum, but for women (due to anatomical differences) shedding usually extends from the vagina down the perineum to the anus. What that means is that, to be totally safe, your potential SO shouldn't make contact with that area with his bare penis. However, performing oral sex or mutual masturbation should be totally fine, as long as he doesn't, say, touch the potential shedding areas then directly touch his penis after without hand-washing. Hope this helps!

Constant Diplomat