Herpes scare, can anyone help?

I have been itching for the last two months after a protected encounter with a female. itching started in four days and I have seen dermatologists and a GP none of them say this is Herpes related however the itching does not go away. They did not see lesions however. My groin and anal areas are very tender (reddish and can feel the pubic hair rubbing my skin but no one saw bumps, I felt on or two cuts in the anal area as they tend to cause stinging sensation while showering) and have been itching or feels slightly burning once in a while and constantly feeling like something is crawling in that areas. Visited three dermatologists and one GP. All advised it is not herpes and two of them gave steroid cream and two dermatologists prescribed antifungal. I don’t know which of them are right? I am driving myself crazy reading too many forums. Is this some sort of asymptotic herpes where the symptom just shows as itching and redness? My first two weeks of itching was intense and eventually subsided while applying the steroid cream but it return when I stopped applying that cream for 2-4 days. applying antifungal or steroid cream it gets better but the redness returns in few days again if I stop applying. Could it be herpes? The doctors days they don’t see blisters so they don’t think it is herpes. My 4 week testing hsv1/2 is negative. I m safe or do I have to wait till 3 months? I read from Terri’s post that IgG won’t pick up hsv2 8% of the times,May I know why? Do you think the lesions might show up later time or it would have shown right away?  It has been 6.5 weeks since exposure almost. I read forums in which people found out having An out break after 6-8 months? Should I trust the result after 3-4 months and Should I trust my doctors?