World's Largest Herpes Support Group

NrsA

Hi all I’m a 29 year old nurse. I recently found out I have hsv1 genital from oral sex. This was with a long time male friend. Who may or may not have know ... but he has ignored every message and call since this happened so he has no idea that he has given this t

my breakout is just clearing up from Valtrex. I feel gross I feel like my sec life and love life is over and it was something I enjoyed. I’m young I travel the world and I feel like now my chances of meeting the love of my life are over. I’ve been crying in and off even at work lately. Idk how to cope. Does anyone with hsv1 via genitals have advice.. I was so confused at first that hsv 2 came back negative because I thought hsv 2 was strictly genital and vice versa. Any advice, comfort or anything anyone could give me would be so appreciated, I’m very much alone and scared. Thank you ❤️

Amylouise

Hey Nrs A,

I feel so bad for you I got HSV 1 the same way and I already had HSV 1 oral so I had both of them.  I hate the Valtrex with a passion but if you need to take it then do so.  I would watch your diet and try to work through it that way.  From what I understand as a naturopath arginine is the biggest contributor to the outbreaks and symptoms.  I was lucky and used an alternative treatment a go and I got over the virus that way.  Try not to stress though because it is not a life sentence.  

NrsA

What alternative treatment  did you use? I just am so confused about hsv 1 and hsv 2. Do you have frequent outbreaks?

LetItGo

@NrsA HSV 1 and HSV 2 are a bit confusing to understand. MANY people on here know a lot of great information about the 2 but I still have questions.