World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  

Confused About Transmission

Genital Herpes Home Testing

NEW - In-home Genital Herpes Testing Kits!

Affordable, Hassle-free, 100% Confidential, 5 Minute Testing
  • No doctor or lab visits required
  • Prescription sent to your pharmacy
  • Lab-certified results in days
  • All from the comfort of home

I have been HSV-2 positive for a year and a half now. I am an attractive 24 year old who has a great life and a lot to be thankful for (I realize this now more than I did before becoming positive with HSV). This is my first time posting on one of these websites.

I got HSV from a guy I was in a serious relationship with who did not know he was infected. I have not had many partners in my life and also do not have casual sex. This is a huge blow to someone who has not slept with many people and catches something like this while in a serious relationship with a person they trust. He said he had been tested for STDs and everything was negative. This obviously was not the case. I tried to stay in the relationship with this guy since I knew he did not give me an STD on purpose, but it was too hard. I needed some time to heal and find my self-esteem again.

Now it has been a year and a half and I am in a relationship with an amazing guy who I really care about. I told him my status about 3 months into the relationship (we had not had sex yet) and he said that it was not my fault and that he still cares about me just as much as he did before I told him.