World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
PREU89

Valtrex??

PREU89

Ok so I've been diagnosed positive for both type1 and 2 and my doctor prescribed 500mg of Valtrex. Can some of you write back on feedback about this med. I would really appreciate it. I'm new to all this and it's been extremely difficult. I'm glad I found this forum though, you have all been so very helpful during this tough time in my life. I don't feel so alone.

Exceeder
Ok so I've been diagnosed positive for both type1 and 2 and my doctor prescribed 500mg of Valtrex. Can some of you write back on feedback about this med. I would really appreciate it. I'm new to all this and it's been extremely difficult. I'm glad I found this forum though, you have all been so very helpful during this tough time in my life. I don't feel so alone.

I'm trying to figure this one out too...I mean, this stuff is supposed to be pretty hard on the gut...but im not sure if my outbreaks are worth it.

shutterbug

I've only been taking it for a week so far, since my first OB... I've not had any side-effects from it (and I'm taking 500mg twice a day) and once I started taking it, my symptoms seemed to go away very quickly. I am only supposed to take them for 2 weeks.

My doctor told me to keep a prescription "on hand" and start taking them as soon as I experience the onset of any future symptoms.

I'd like to know the difference between taking the valtrex at the onset of symptoms vs taking it daily. Does taking it daily reduce the # of breakouts you've experienced?

Exceeder
I've only been taking it for a week so far, since my first OB... I've not had any side-effects from it (and I'm taking 500mg twice a day) and once I started taking it, my symptoms seemed to go away very quickly. I am only supposed to take them for 2 weeks.

My doctor told me to keep a prescription "on hand" and start taking them as soon as I experience the onset of any future symptoms.