World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
heaby

HELP!!! We broke up b/c my girlfriend has herpes :(

heaby

Hello i'm new to all this so please bear with me,

my girlfriend (i am a male) told me about a week ago that she has herpes (not the oral one, just genitally; i think its type 2????) and that she really didn't want to give it to me so we ended up finishing our relationship against both of our desires and it hurt so bad . It was very hard for me to hear and even worse for her to tell me. Since she got herpes the only break out she has had was the initial one. Since that she has taken Valtrex and everything seems fine. We really both want to stay together, it's just we are pretty young and i am very cautious with things like that. I guess my question is that when the time comes for us to be intimate with each other and she hasn't had an out break since the initial one. If we use protection and she takes her meds; Is there still a chance that i will get it? And if so what is the percentage? I mean i know for a fact i have no STD's and i would prefer to keep it that way just for my own well being. This is a terrible situation that we have both been put in, if someone could just help me decide on what to do it will make both of our lives so much better. My perfect outcome would be that we could get back together and not get herpes and be happy. Of course i know there is still a chance to get herpes. Please i need some help on what to do

lilanne19