World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
Idkwhatimdoing

newly diagnosed and may have transmitted to my partner

Idkwhatimdoing

Hello Everyone,

I was newly diagnosed earlier this month.  I had my first outbreak, didn't even know I was infected.  I had a test drawn at the end of January but I didn't get the results because they weren't immediately sent to my doctors office, I work in the medical field and I know that STD's are reported to public health, well stupid me thought if I had something they would be finding me, so I followed up but not completely like I should have, because come to find out Herpes is sooo common its not reported like the other STD's.  So flash forward a couple months to my first outbreak, I've been seeing this man for about 7 months, the numbers from my January test are concurrent with my situation of being infected in October.  I had 3 sexual partners that month 2 of which were unprotected, one I'm still with.  before that I was celibate for 17 months because I had gotten out of a LTR that was for 13 years.  

I am slowly coming to terms with this diagnosis, I disclosed to a friend and found out she has it too.  She assured me that I may feel like life is over but it really isn't because it is manageable.

I told my S.O. that I was diagnosed with this, and we had sex on an outbreak before I even knew what it was.  So he was telling me that this doesn't change how he feels about me, that he still loves me.  He was really wonderful during the beginning of it.  But recently has went to the doctor and he got an exam and on exam he had swollen glands in the pelvic area and a high temp which could be symptoms, it is about right with the timeline because this was about 2 weeks before I had my breakout.