World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
hannahorval

Didn't tell him i have herpes...help

hannahorval

Hi, this is my first time posting here. 

I was diagnosed about 2 years ago with HSV-1, but i had a genital outbreak, passed on from oral with my now ex. I have had a couple outbreaks since but now take anti-viral medication, i havent slept with anyone else until recently. We used a condom, and i didnt say anything because i barely knew him and didnt feel comfortable disclosing. The problem is i really like him an d can see myself continuing to see him, and in the car he randomly brought up how he gets checked and asked me if i've ever had anything- to which i said no. I know i shouldnt have lied but i have only just met him and it felt too personal a disclosure. My question is what do i do now? How do i tell him? I have had people tell me i dont need to disclose since its HSV-1 and im taking medication and using condoms and so the chance of passing it on is apparently so slim. Any advice would be appreciated, 

T9000
7 minutes ago, hannahorval said:

I was diagnosed about 2 years ago with HSV-1, but i had a genital outbreak, passed on from oral with my now ex. I have had a couple outbreaks since but now take anti-viral medication, i havent slept with anyone else until recently. We used a condom, and i didnt say anything because i barely knew him and didnt feel comfortable disclosing. The problem is i really like him an d can see myself continuing to see him, and in the car he randomly brought up how he gets checked and asked me if i've ever had anything- to which i said no. I know i shouldnt have lied but i have only just met him and it felt too personal a disclosure. My question is what do i do now? How do i tell him? I have had people tell me i dont need to disclose since its HSV-1 and im taking medication and using condoms and so the chance of passing it on is apparently so slim. Any advice would be appreciated,