World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
toshibanow

Confused! Please help! I can't sleep!

toshibanow

Here is my back story. I really hope someone can help. Not being able to know is stressing me out. If i do have it, i want to accept it. but now im just completely confused.

I've had one bf for almost a year now, and we have both been together only. I have not been with anyone else, and he has sworn that he has not.

My bf had one cold sore outbreak. I assumed I got my outbreak from him, oddly not during his outbreak. however, when he had is cold sore, he didnt touched me or kissed me. he knew of the potential consequences.

i am currently a univ student and was not able to go see my regular doctor.

(June 07) About six months ago, I developed symptoms that were similar to Herpes (flu like symptoms, severe pain in gentialia). I went to my university health center and the RN diagnosed as herpes, however the culture came out inconclusive. She reported seeing sores and I had severe pain. the sores appeared in the frontal vulva, thus the nurse assumed i got the outbreak from oral sex, and diagnosed with that knowledge and type 1. I was prescribed Valtrex.

(Sept 07) About 3 months later I had another outbreak. I did not have time to visit the doctor this time but I was prescribed Valtrex again (finals and the overflow of the health center). I have similar symptoms to my first out break.

(Right now Dec 07) I developed similar symptoms BUT not as severe. I did not have the chance to meet the doctor but I took a lab test. I took a IgG test a few days ago and came out negative (under 0.9) for both HSV 1 and 2. Thus the test noted I do NOT have herpes. Today I went to Planned Parenthood and awaiting a culture test.

Note i took the blood test while having symptoms. yet cause i have had the outbreak before, i am assuming i would have the antibodies in my system.

1. Should I conclude i do not herpes?

2. If i do not have herpes, what could I have?!