World's Largest Herpes Support Group
Sign in to follow this  
shadow750

looking for advice

shadow750

I was diagnosed awhile ago. I was involved with the same guy for 4 years when I was diagnosed. We both had it by then and it wasn't an issue. After he moved I have avoided serious relationships for fear the guy would think the worst of me if he found out. I am in my 30's and moving abou 1000 miles away. I do want to marry and children. At one point do you tell someone you have Herpes? How do you prevent someone else from getting it. My doctor never answers my questions and doesn't think Valtrex once a day treatment works. What have some of you done?

luv2dancebas

I'm new to this myself but from all that I've read there is about a 4% chance of exposing someone to the virus if you are on suppressive therapy and not experiencing an active OB. When you add condoms you cut that 4% in half. the best way to protect someone is to be on suppressive therapy, use a condom and never has sex during an outbreak. I've not had to tell anyone yet and frankly I'm not looking forward to it. Most of what I've read is that you want to tell them before becoming initimate but after you decide they are someone that you would want to be initimate with. Like that narrows it down :)

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

Advertisement

Try a Lysine supplement for cold sores

• The Hive is Thriving!

• Total Topics
    • Total Posts
    • Ashia